Make Your Voice Heard

You know what annoys the heck out of me? When I’m in a meeting and a man speaks over me.  I’m sitting there, making a great point and he jumps in and starts talking.  Instead of sitting there in stunned and annoyed silence, here are my for stopping this jerk in his tracks while remaining professional.

Asking for help isn't a sign of weakness!-8

  1. Communicate clearly and concisely.  You have to learn to communicate ideas with the minimum amount required.  Provide exactly the amount of detail that your audience needs.  Short and to the point will always be more powerful than going on and on.
  2. Keep pauses short.  Don’t give them a door to jump into while you are speaking.
  3. Speak loud and clearly.  You want to make sure that you are communicating effectively.
  4. Don’t make the situation more awkward by interrupting them or trying to speak over them.  I prefer to say something like “Thanks Bill, I’d love to hear your ideas but I have a little more that I wanted to cover.”

There may always be some jerk that just can’t help but insert himself into your sentence but applying this techniques will help to set the stage that you won’t take it.

Leave a Reply

